RX-160 Byarlant


Model number: RX-160
Code name: Byarlant
Unit type: prototype limited custom mobile suit
Manufacturer: Earth Federation Forces
Operator: Titans
First deployment: UC 0087
Accommodation: pilot only, in panoramic monitor/linear seat cockpit in torso
Dimensions: overall height 23.1 meters; head height 18.6 meters
Weight: empty 34.2 metric tons; max gross 54.7 metric tons; mass ratio 1.33
Armor materials: Gundarium alloy
Powerplant: Minovsky type ultracompact fusion reactor, output rated at 1,760 kW
Propulsion: rocket thrusters: 86,400 kg total (28,000 kg, 2 x 18,000 kg, 2 x 11,200 kg); vernier thrusters/apogee motors: 13
Equipment and design features: sensors, range 9,890 meters
Fixed armaments: 2 x beam saber, stored in recharge racks in arms, hand-carried in use; 2 x mega particle gun, power rated at 4.7 MW, mounted in forearms

Another in a long line of mobile suit prototypes developed by the Earth Federation Forces and the Titans during the Gryps War, the RX-160 Byarlant was one of the few new designs which was fast and agile, yet did not require external support systems or mobile armor transformations to achieve this. Capable of self-sustained atmospheric flight, the Byarlant mounted powerful thrusters in its shoulders and on its waist, with a large-capacity fuel tank in its torso to keep them running. However, it was only armed with beam sabers and pair of mega particle guns in its hands, limiting its flexibility due to a lack of versatile weapons. This factor kept the Byarlant from being mass produced, although one test unit was used in combat by Titans pilot Jerid Messa during the later parts of the Gryps War. Years later, tthe EFF deployed two enhanced variants, the RX-160S Byarlant Custom and RX-160S-2 Byarlant Custom 02, when Zeon remnants attacked Australia’s Torrington Base in UC 0096.

Pilot: Jerid Messa
First appearance: Mobile Suit Zeta Gundam
Original mechanical designer: Kazumi Fujita


Beam saber




Rear view

Zeta Gundam Info


Yoshiyuki Tomino

Hiroshi Ohnogi
Yumiko Suzuki
Tomoko Kawasaki
Yasushi Hirano
Akinori Endo
Miho Maruo
Minoru Onoya

Mechanical Designer(s):
Kazumi Fujita
Mamoru Nagano
Kunio Okawara
Makoto Kobayashi
Kazuhisa Kondo
Hideo Okamoto

Character Designer:
Yoshikazu Yasuhiko

Musical Composer:
Shigeaki Saegusa

50 episodes; 3 compilation movies

Japan 03.02.1985 – 02.22.1986

Theatrical Release:
Japan 05.28.2005 – 03.04.2006


Comments are closed.