RX-160S Byarlant Custom


Model number: RX-160S
Code name: 
Byarlant Custom
Unit type:
 custom close combat mobile suit
Manufacturer: Earth Federation Forces
Operator: Earth Federation Forces
First deployment: UC 0094
Accommodation: pilot only, in panoramic monitor/linear seat cockpit in torso
Dimensions: head height 20.6 meters
Weight: empty 38.9 metric tons; max gross 60.3 metric tons
Armor materials: Gundarium alloy
Powerplant: Minovsky type ultracompact fusion reactor, output rated at 1,840 kW
Propulsion: rocket thrusters: 98,300 kg total
Performance: unknown
Equipment and design features: sensors, range 11,200 meters; 2 x propellant tank, mounted on backpack
Fixed armaments: 2 x mega particle cannon, can generate beam sabers, mounted in forearms; 2 x claw arm
Optional hand armaments: none

The RX-160 Byarlant was first deployed in UC 0087 as a unit in the infamous Titans. After the Gryps War, a surviving unit was designated as a technology testbed and upgraded into the RX-160S Byarlant Custom. The suit’s thrusters were enhanced, and the addition of propellant tanks extended its operational time flying through the atmosphere. The Byarlant Custom was armed with two mega particle cannons that could also generate beam sabers. In place of the Byarlant’s small manipulators, the RX-160S featured two claw arms that could be used in melee combat. In UC 0096, pilot Robin Diez used the Byarlant Custom to defend the EFF’s Torrington Base from a large-scale attack by Zeon remnants. The Torrington Base also developed another variant, the RX-160S-2 Byarlant Custom 02.

Pilot: Robin Diez
First appearance: Mobile Suit Gundam Unicorn (anime)
Original mechanical designer: Hajime Katoki








Rear view


Thruster and propellant tank

Gundam Unicorn Info

Kazuhiro Furuhashi

Yasuyuki Muto
Harutoshi Fukui (novel)

Mechanical Designer(s):
Hajime Katoki
Junya Ishigaki
Yoshinori Sayama
Nobuhiko Genma

Character Designer:
Yoshikazu Yasuhiko

Musical Composer:
Hiroyuki Sawano

7 episodes (OVA); 22 episodes (TV re-edit)

Video Release (OVA):
Japan 03.12.2010 – 06.06.2014
U.S. 03.12.2010 – 06.06.2014

Airdates (TV version):
Japan 04.03.2016 – 09.11.2016
U.S. 01.07.2017 – 06.10.2017


Comments are closed.