Aim for the Top!

Aim for the Top! Gunbuster

Gunbuster OVA header

Aim for the Top! Gunbuster is an OVA series originally released in Japan from 1988-1989. Created by Gainax, Gunbuster is the directorial debut of Hideaki Anno, who also wrote for the series. Other staff includes mechanical designers Kazutaka Miyatake, Mahiro Maeda and Koichi Ohata, character designer Haruhiko Mikimoto and composer Kouhei Tanaka. Set in an alternate 2023, the story focuses on Noriko Takaya, a young woman training to become a space pilot to combat the Space Monsters threatening humanity. Twenty-seven years after its initial release, Gainax created a Gunbuster compilation movie. The series was followed in 2004 by a sequel, Aim for the Top! 2: Diebuster. The OVA series was previously released on home video in North America by Bandai Visual USA, but it has since been re-licensed by Discotek Media.


Gunbuster Info

Hideaki Anno

Hideaki Anno
Toshio Okada
Hiroyuki Yamaga

Mechanical Designer(s):
Kazutaka Miyatake
Mahiro Maeda
Koichi Ohata

Character Designer:
Haruhiko Mikimoto

Musical Composer:
Kouhei Tanaka

6 episodes; 1 compilation movie

Video Release (OVA):
Japan 10.07.1988 – 07.07.1989
U.S. 02.20.2007

Theatrical Release:
Japan 10.01.2006


Comments are closed.