ATH-14-SA Standing Tortoise Mark-II


Model number: ATH-14-SA
Code name: Standing Tortoise Mark-II
Unit type: space adapted heavy-class armored trooper
Manufacturer: Secret Society
Operator: Secret Society
First deployment: unknown
Accommodation: pilot only, in standard cockpit in torso/head
Dimensions: overall height 4.022 meters, 2.312 meters (standby mode); overall width 2.117 meters; overall depth 2.123 meters
Weight: dry 8.305 metric tons; full 8.610 metric tons
Armor materials: unknown material, armor thickness 6-15mm
Powerplant: unknown
Muscle cylinder system: 1P-LJ-S4
Polymer ringers (PR) liquid type: DT-MS
PR liquid power: 11.5 hp per liter squared
PR liquid capacity: 110 liters
Reserve PR liquid tank capacity: 20 liters with PRSP (polymer ringers solution purification) system
PR liquid replacement time: 80 hours
Performance: gliding wheel speed (dry weight): 68.2 km/h; gliding wheel speed (full combat weight): 44 km/h; gliding wheel power: 300 hp; gliding wheel torque: 65 kg/m
Equipment and design features: sensors, range unknown; MCT-211-CFII control computer
Fixed armaments: 2 x 11mm machine gun, mounted in torso
Optional fixed armaments: 2 x SMAT-32 6-tube missile launcher, mounted on shoulders
Optional hand armaments: FTAT-16 flamethrower; HMAT-38 missile launcher, mounts 8 missiles; HRAT-23 4-tube rocket launcher; X-SAT-01 50mm solid shooter bazooka; HRAT-30 22-tube rocket gun

The ATH-14-SA Standing Tortoise Mark-II was a space-use variant of the ATH-14-ST Standing Tortoise. The backpack was equipped with new rocket boosters and maneuvering thrusters, and the main body used new muscle cylinders to function in zero gravity. The Mark-II’s armaments were identical to the original Standing Tortoise. The Mark-II served as the main unit for the Secret Society’s space operations.

Pilot: Ypsilon (aka Proto-Two)
First appearance: Armored Trooper VOTOMS
Original mechanical designer: Kunio Okawara


Armored Trooper VOTOMS Info

Ryosuke Takahashi

Ryosuke Takahashi
Soji Yoshikawa
Toshi Gobu
Jinzo Toriumi

Mechanical Designer:
Kunio Okawara

Character Designer:
Norio Shioyama

Musical Composer:
Hiroki Inui

52 episodes; 4 compilation OVAs

Japan 04.01.1983 – 03.23.1984


Comments are closed.