Argama class (Argama)


Class: Argama
Name: Argama
Ships of the line: ArgamaPegasus IIINikaya
Unit type:
 assault cruiser
Manufacturer: AEUG (Anti-Earth Union Group)/Anaheim Electronics
Operator(s): AEUG; Karaba
First deployment: March UC 0087
Dimensions: overall length 341.7 meters; overall width 124.1 meters, height 76.5 meters (assault mode)
Weight: 54,031.0 metric tons
Propulsion: jet/rocket engine; Minovsky craft system
Equipment and design features: sensors, range unknown; rotating residential gravity blocks, mounted on main body and extendable to rotate and create artificial gravity; ballute system
Fixed armaments: 4 x beam cannon, mounted in front of and behind bridge and in forward underside; 2 x mega particle cannon, mounted on port and starboard midship; hyper mega particle cannon, replaces port mega particle cannon; many x anti-aircraft laser cannon, mounted across hull; missile launcher, mounted behind bridge
Mobile suits: 8
Mobile weapons: many x MSA-003 Nemo; many x RMS-099 Rick Dias; MSZ-006 Zeta Gundam; MSZ-010 ZZ Gundam; RX-178 Gundam Mk-IIMSN-00100 Hyaku-Shiki; FXA-08R Mega Rider; FXA-05D G-Defenser
Launch catapults: 2

Following the infamous Colony 30 incident in UC 0085, the Anti-Earth Union Group was formed in response to the cruelty of the Titans. This rebel group needed a flagship and mobile suits, and the carrier Argama became the symbol of the AEUG. Secretly constructed at the refugee colony Sweetwater with funding from Anaheim Electronics, the Argama‘s design was loosely based on the legendary White Base from the One Year War. This new design could hold more mobile suits and was equipped with two mega particle guns as its main armament. The ship was also equipped with two gravity blocks that could rotate around the ship to generate artificial gravity. The Argama was first deployed in March UC 0087 to steal the prototype RX-178 Gundam Mk-II from the Titans. With this first mission, the Gryps War was set into motion. The Argama was first assigned to Henken Bekkener, but he eventually transferred to the Radish after Bright Noa assumed command of the Argama in May UC 0087. As the AEUG’s flagship, the Argama participates in every major operation, from the failed attack on Jaburo to providing cover fire for Karaba’s attack on Mount Kilimanjaro in late UC 0087.

When the Axis Zeon entered the scene late in the war, the Argama was the first ship to make contact with Haman Karn. As the Gryps War came to its bloody end, the Argama was involved in Operation Maelstrom and successfully captured the Gryps 2 colony laser. After the Gryps War ended in February UC 0088 with the destruction of the Titans, the battered Argama was the only AEUG ship still in service. The damaged ship limped off to Side 1’s Shangri-La Colony for repairs and was forced to hide from Neo Zeon commander Mashymre Cello and his battleship Endra. After recruiting several new crewmembers and escaping from Shangri-La, the Argama docked at La Vie en Rose for repairs and was upgraded with a new hyper mega particle cannon in April UC 0088. After failing to destroy Axis with this powerful new weapon, the Argama followed Haman down to Earth, but was too late to prevent her from occupying the Earth Federation capital at Dakar. Afterwards, the Argama proceeded to Dublin and helped evacuate citizens when the Neo Zeon dropped a space colony on the city. The crew of the Argama was forced to leave their damaged vessel on Earth for use by the Karaba in November UC 0088. However, when they arrived in space, a new flagship was waiting for them: the Nahel Argama.

Captain(s): Henken Bekkener, Bright Noa
First appearance: Mobile Suit Zeta Gundam
Original mechanical designer: Mamoru Nagano




Gravity block rotation


Launch catapult


Lower MS hangar


Mega particle cannon


Rear view


Upper MS hangar

Zeta Gundam Info


Yoshiyuki Tomino

Hiroshi Ohnogi
Yumiko Suzuki
Tomoko Kawasaki
Yasushi Hirano
Akinori Endo
Miho Maruo
Minoru Onoya

Mechanical Designer(s):
Kazumi Fujita
Mamoru Nagano
Kunio Okawara
Makoto Kobayashi
Kazuhisa Kondo
Hideo Okamoto

Character Designer:
Yoshikazu Yasuhiko

Musical Composer:
Shigeaki Saegusa

50 episodes; 3 compilation movies

Japan 03.02.1985 – 02.22.1986

Theatrical Release:
Japan 05.28.2005 – 03.04.2006


Comments are closed.