MAM-07 Grublo


Model number: MAM-07
Code name: Grublo
Unit type: experimental underwater combat mobile armor
Manufacturer: MIP Company
Operator: Principality of Zeon
First deployment: UC 0079
Accommodation: pilot only, in standard cockpit in main body
Dimensions: overall height 26.1 meters; overall length 40.2 meters
Weight: empty 324.1 metric tons; max gross 739.7 metric tons
Armor materials: super hard steel alloy
Powerplant: Minovsky type ultracompact fusion reactor, output rated at 11,000 kW
Propulsion: 2 x hydrojet engine; total output unknown
Equipment and design features: sensors, range unknown
Fixed armaments: 2 x 7-tube torpedo launcher, 3 round magazine per tube, mounted in main body; 2 x anti-ship/air missile launcher, 8 round magazine each, mounted in main body

Part submarine and part mobile suit, the MAM-07 Grublo was one of the earliest mobile armor designs used by the Principality of Zeon during the One Year War. Designed for underwater combat, the Grublo mounted both torpedo launchers for ship-to-ship or ship-to-shore assaults, and surface-to-air missiles to fight off airborne targets. One prototype Grublo unit was deployed as part of Char Aznable’s Mad Angler unit and was piloted by Jukon class submarine captain Flanagan Boone against the Earth Federation Forces assault carrier White Base, causing severe damage to that ship during its journey across the Atlantic Ocean to South America. In August UC 0080, a Grublo used by Zeon remnants was destroyed in battle against the RX-78AL Atlas Gundam.

Pilot(s): Flanagan Boone, Clara Lodge, Bull
First appearance: Mobile Suit Gundam
Original mechanical designer(s): Kunio Okawara (Mobile Suit Gundam and MSV versions), Yasuo Ohtagaki (Gundam Thunderbolt version)


Rear view (Version 1)


Rear view (Version 3)

Mobile Suit Gundam Info


Yoshiyuki Tomino
Ryoji Fujiwara (movie 1)

Yoshiyuki Tomino
Masaru Yamamoto
Kenichi Matsuzaki
Yoshihisa Araki
Hiroyuki Hoshiyama

Mechanical Designer(s):
Kunio Okawara
Yoshiyuki Tomino

Character Designer:
Yoshikazu Yasuhiko

Musical Composer(s):
Yuji Matsuyama
Takeo Watanabe

43 episodes; 3 compilation movies

Japan 04.07.1979 – 01.26.1980
U.S. 07.23.2001 – 09.12.2001

Theatrical Release:
Japan 03.14.1981 – 03.13.1982


Comments are closed.