Type 74 Hover Truck

General and Technical Data

Model number(s): Type 74; M353A4
Code name(s): 
Hover Truck; Bloodhound
Unit type:
 combat communications support truck
Manufacturer: Earth Federation Forces
Operator: Earth Federation Forces
Rollout: UC 0074
First deployment: UC 0074
Accommodation: 1 driver, 1 gunner, 1 sonar operator, 1 radio operator, in main cabin
Dimensions: overall height 3.3 meters; overall length 9.4 meters; overall width 6.3 meters
Weight: unknown
Armor materials: unknown
Powerplant: unknown
Propulsion: 4 x hover engine, total output unknown
Performance: unknown
Equipment and design features: sensors, range unknown; underground sonar system; 2 x 4-tube smoke discharger, mounted on either side of main body
Fixed armaments: 20mm vulcan gun, mounted on roof

Technical and Historical Notes

The Type 74 Hover Truck (aka M353A4 Bloodhound) was a support vehicle assigned to Earth Federation Forces ground combat units to provide them with battlefield intelligence when radar was rendered ineffective due to Minovsky particle broadcast. Utilizing an advanced passive ground sonar suite to identify targets at long range, the Hover Truck was also equipped with a powerful communications system to penetrate low levels of Minovsky jamming. The Hover Truck was also designed with an open cargo bed for the transportation of supplies. For defense, the Hover Truck was armed with a single 20mm vulcan gun mounted on the turret, primarily for anti-aircraft defense. The standard ground mobile suit team consisted of three mobile suits and a Hover Truck, and these units were deployed all across the world from Southeast Asia’s Kojima Battalion, to Europe to the White Dingo team in Australia.

Miscellaneous Information

Driver(s): Eledore Massis, Michel Ninorich, Kiki Rosita, Terry Sanders Jr., Anita Julianne, Maureen Kitamura, Noel Anderson, Mora Boscht
First appearance: Mobile Suit Gundam: The 08th M.S. Team
Original mechanical designer: Kimitoshi Yamane

Main cabin
Sonar control console
Underground sonar system
Gundam: The 08th M.S. Team Info

Takeyuki Kanda
Umanosuke Iida

Akira Okeya
Hiroaki Kitajima

Mechanical Designer(s):
Kunio Okawara
Hajime Katoki
Kimitoshi Yamane

Character Designer(s):
Toshihiro Kawamoto
Tomoaki Kado

Musical Composer:
Kouhei Tanaka

Video Release:
Japan 01.25.1996 – 07.25.1999
U.S. 07.03.2001 – 01.22.2002

Theatrical Release:
Japan 08.01.1998


Comments are closed.