Macross Frontier (TV series)

Macross Frontier TV header

Macross Frontier is a TV series that aired exclusively in Japan in 2008. It is the third Macross TV series and was produced to celebrate the franchise’s 25th anniversary, with a special preview version of the first episode airing in 2007. Directed by Yasuhito Kikuchi and Shoji Kawamori, the series was written by Hiroyuki Yoshino and features mechanical designs by Kawamori, Junya Ishigaki and Takeshi Takakura, character designs by Risa Ebata and Yuichi Takahashi and a score composed by Yoko Kanno. Set in 2059, the series focuses on Alto Saotome, a citizen of the Macross Frontier emigration fleet traveling through deep space in search of a habitable planet. The status quo is shattered when the fleet comes under attack from biomechanical organisms called the Vajra. The series was followed by a pair of theatrical films that reimagined its story and featured new music and mecha designs. In 2022, Big West announced that the TV series will be released on home video in North America by Nozomi Entertainment.


NOTE: Units indicated with an asterisk (*) are available in Burke’s All the World’s Mecha or Burke’s Fighting Ships & Vehicles format.

Macross Frontier Info

Yasuhito Kikuchi
Shoji Kawamori

Hiroyuki Yoshino

Mechanical Designer(s):
Shoji Kawamori
Junya Ishigaki
Takeshi Takakura

Character Designer(s):
Risa Ebata
Yuichi Takahashi

Musical Composer:
Yoko Kanno

25 episodes

Japan 04.03.2008 – 09.25.2008


Comments are closed.